API: InternalChangeSet

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
GaryvdM
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:01 am

API: InternalChangeSet

Post by GaryvdM » Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:14 am

Hi

I have written my own app that uses the Vault API. My app goes through all the Modified and Added items in the InternalChangeSet, and modifies that file to include the expected version of the file when it is commited (i.e. the current version +1.) I run this app just before I commit changes.

The problem I have is that items that are added in the client are not in the InternalChangeSet in the app, unless I close the client before I run my app. It seems that the InternalChangeSet is saved to disk when the client closes. Is there a way to get the InternalChangeSet to save without closing the app.

I will be happy to provide the source code for my app if necessary.

Thanks,

Gary

jeremy_sg
Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 11:39 am
Location: Sourcegear
Contact:

Post by jeremy_sg » Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:09 pm

Gary,

You have indeed noticed a quirk in the way the Vault handles its cache members. Is your user in VSS mode or CVS mode?

Also, can you give me more of an idea of what you are doing with this custom app. It may be possible that you can use keyword expansion to do what you want to do.

GaryvdM
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:01 am

Post by GaryvdM » Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:27 am

Hi

I'm in CVS mode.

The files that I am checking in are Solid Edge CAD files. I am using the Solid Edge file properties API to set the revision to the expected version.

I had a look at Keyword Expansion. I seems intended for text files - but I'm going to test it tonight to see if it works on my CAD files.

Gary

jeremy_sg
Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 11:39 am
Location: Sourcegear
Contact:

Post by jeremy_sg » Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:03 am

If you're in CVS mode, you will need to call ClientInstance.UpdateKnownChanges_All in order to fill the internal change set.

GaryvdM
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:01 am

Post by GaryvdM » Mon Apr 30, 2007 5:11 am

Unfortunately I could not get Keyword Expansion to work on the CAD files.

Calling ClientInstance.UpdateKnownChanges_All did fix the problem in my app. Thanks for the help.

Post Reply