WebApplication directories & repository structure

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
jessek
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:09 am

WebApplication directories & repository structure

Post by jessek » Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:38 am

I'm probably missing something obvious, but I'm confused about how to set up the web application directories on my computer to match the repository structure.

The repository looks like this:

MyCompany

- Site1
- - trunk
- - branches

- Site2
- - trunk
- - branches

So far, so good. I open my websites from source control, and end up with a directory that looks like this:

c:\inetpub\wwwroot\site1\trunk
c:\inetpub\wwwroot\site2\trunk

IIS wants to make a web application called "trunk", which is rooted in c:\inetpub\wwwroot\site1\trunk. Obviously, this won't work well -- what do I call the other "trunk"?

Do I call the application "site1" but root it at "site1\trunk", and change it when I work on the branches to root at "site1\branches\branchX" ? Will this confuse VS, Vault or IIS? Or just me?

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by Beth » Fri Mar 30, 2007 3:45 pm

When you perform the open from source control you need to specify where you want each one to go during the dialog boxes that open. That would be towards the top of the Create Local Project From Vault dialog. Even though both are called trunk they are still in different locations, so it shouldn't have a problem with that.

I attached a screenshot of what happens when I set up what looked to be the same structure. My entire website though was under trunk. I'm assuming you don't have a solution file or anything sitting over trunk that could be seeing trunk as part of the path to a file?
Attachments
Add Web Site.doc
(760 KiB) Downloaded 304 times

jessek
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 10:09 am

Mapping repositories to folders

Post by jessek » Mon Apr 02, 2007 7:49 am

Hi Beth,

Thanks for the reply. To make sure I understand:

In the repository, I have

MyCompany
- Site1
- - trunk
- - branches
- - - branch1

When I want to edit Site1/trunk in Visual Studio, I tell it to create the project using HTTP at localhost/site1.

If I want to go edit sgv://Site1/branches/branch1, I have to delete http://localhost/site1, then open sgv://Site1/branches/branch1 into http://localhost/site1. Is that correct?

Thanks!

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by lbauer » Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:39 pm

If this is a web project, there are certain steps to take to open a branch from source control:
http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?p=512

Note: if you are using Vault 3.5.1 with VS.NET 2003, these steps do not work, due to a bug. This has been fixed Vault 3.5.2, due out in a week or two. This does work for VS 2005.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Post Reply