branch/merge when dest tree layout and filenames differ?

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
JimFr
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 11:30 am

branch/merge when dest tree layout and filenames differ?

Post by JimFr » Mon Apr 10, 2006 12:02 pm

I need to branch from tree A to tree B, but the tree layout and file names on B differs from A.

Branch: I don't see a way to do the the branch directly into the new layout. looks like I need to branch the tree, then move and rename files in B?

Merge: It appears that Vault won't keep track of moved or renamed files in B for future merges. In this case, whenever you merge from B you have to manually specify the filename and location for each file via the GUI merge tool. This is not practical.

Is there some way to script this, or automate this using an API, where you feed it the source and destination pathnames for each file?

- Jim

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by lbauer » Tue Apr 11, 2006 8:13 am

A branch is a copy of a portion of the tree, if you want the structure or file names to be different, it probably will take additional steps.

If you provide examples of what you're trying to do, we might have some suggestions.

Branching can be accomplished through the Vault Client API or Command Line Client. Merging branches is best done through the Merge Wizard.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

JimFr
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2006 11:30 am

Post by JimFr » Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:11 am

Here's a very simplified example (what I'm really doing involves hundreds of files):

-- source of branch:
dirA
---file2.txt
---dirB
------file1.txt
------file3.txt

-- destination branch:
dir1
---dir2
------file1Renamed.txt
------file2Renamed.txt
------dir3
---------file3Renamed.txt

It appears a command line branch can only branch at the directory level, so it cannot have source and dest filenames differ.

The problem with merging via the wizard is that for each file being merged, I would have to manually specify the dest filename and location.

-Jim

Post Reply