Vault.exe createfolder command line

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
Jamie Clayton
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:21 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Vault.exe createfolder command line

Post by Jamie Clayton » Wed Jun 22, 2011 12:10 am

I've been using final builder 7 to automate my build process. Recently this all seems to be falling to bits. It looks like the command line code it doing something "funky".

Vault 5.0.4.

If run a standard createfolder command line from a Finalbuilder task it indicates success. But the folder isn't displayed in the GUI.
If I run the same command from Vault.exe via cmd.exe I get a lot of xml that looks like extensive historical changsets are getting confused.

Here is the trailing output from the cmd.exe window. I'm reading this like multiple changesets are getting merged together, because there is a changeset that revolves around my Final Builder Project (which also uses Vault as source control).

Code: Select all

</CreateFolder>
    <ModifyFile>
      <id>98</id>
      <repospath>$/SoftwareDelivery/VIP/VIP_IimsBL_ShareUpgrade.fbp7</repospath>

      <localpath>D:\Customers\VIP\SoftwareDelivery\VIP_IimsBL_ShareUpgrade.fbp7<
/localpath>
    </ModifyFile>
    <CreateFolder>
      <id>99</id>
      <repospath>$/VIP/MyVIPSoftware/MyVIPSoftware.BL/Components/IimsBL_v6.53.19.0</repospath>
    </CreateFolder>
    <CreateFolder>
      <id>100</id>
      <repospath>$/VIP/MyVIPSoftware/MyVIPSoftware.BL/Components/IimsBL_v6.53.19.0</repospath>
    </CreateFolder>
    <CreateFolder>
      <id>101</id>
      <repospath>$/VIP/MyVIPSoftware/MyVIPSoftware.BL/Components/IimsBL_v6.53.19.0</repospath>
    </CreateFolder>
    <CreateFolder>
      <id>102</id>
      <repospath>$/VIP/MyVIPSoftware/MyVIPSoftware.BL/Components/IimsBL_v6.53.19.0</repospath>
    </CreateFolder>
  </changeset>
  <result>
    <success>True</success>
  </result>
</vault>
Can you point me the right direction. This is driving me nuts.
Regards
Jamie Clayton
Jenasys Design Pty Ltd (Australia)

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Vault.exe createfolder command line

Post by Beth » Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:58 pm

If run a standard createfolder command line from a Finalbuilder task it indicates success. But the folder isn't displayed in the GUI.
Do you refresh the client? After you create the folder, do you commit it to Vault? Try adding a commit statement.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Jamie Clayton
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:21 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Vault.exe createfolder command line

Post by Jamie Clayton » Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:10 pm

Thanks for the reply Beth.

Ok, in Final builder the AutoCommit check box was unchecked when creating folders and so the command line wasn't creating the

-commit

statement.

PEBKAC at this end.

Just a quick point of clarification - you can use vault.exe command line that execute tasks that"pass" but don't actually commit the commandline instructions to the repository? I guess this is where I'm confussed, I'm assuming it's to allow repository management logic like.
Try and create a folder and see if that passes, then execute the command line with a commit option a second time to change to the repository.
Jamie Clayton
Jenasys Design Pty Ltd (Australia)

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Vault.exe createfolder command line

Post by Beth » Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:16 am

On Adds, Deletes, Moves, and Renames, the action is created and becomes a pended action, then the pended action is committed to the repository.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Jamie Clayton
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 3:21 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Vault.exe createfolder command line

Post by Jamie Clayton » Wed Jun 29, 2011 5:39 pm

Beth,
Just to clarify does "pending" imply that you could build a list of pending changes and then Commit many at once via the command line tool? In the same way that the Visual Studio IDE has a list of pending changes.
Jamie Clayton
Jenasys Design Pty Ltd (Australia)

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Vault.exe createfolder command line

Post by Beth » Thu Jun 30, 2011 9:13 am

Yes. There is a commit function in the command-line as well that will take whatever is in the pending change set and commit it to the Vault server.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Post Reply