"The file exists." error when accessing repository

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
rda
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:47 pm

"The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by rda » Wed Jan 06, 2010 9:05 am

I have Vault (version 5.0) running on a server with two repositories therein - I have no trouble connecting to the first one, but when I try to connect to the second repository (using the Vault Client version 5.0), I'm unable to connect; the client gives an error that says simpy "The file exists."

What could be wrong??

Thanks!

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by Beth » Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:27 pm

You could have a transaction that is causing an error. Try renaming your client-side cache: http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic ... 13&t=11513. If you want to be more granular about what you rename, you can go into the cache and keep the cachemember_workingfolder assignments. Vault needs to be closed when you rename any part of the cache. Then try opening Vault. Vault will rebuild it's cache.

If you have a lot of adds or deletes that were pending before the error, you may need to redo those actions.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

rda
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:47 pm

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by rda » Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:42 pm

I tried that, now I'm getting the same error on both repositories (wasn't sure which GUID to use so I deleted cache on both).

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by Beth » Wed Jan 06, 2010 1:47 pm

Are other users able to log in?

Are you only opening the Vault GUI client? Make sure Visual Studio is closed as well.

Can you access the repositories using the web client? That can be accessed at http://<your Vault server>/vaultservice/vaultweb.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

rda
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:47 pm

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by rda » Wed Jan 06, 2010 3:06 pm

Other users are able to log in without a problem, and I am able to access the repositories using the web interface. Only seeing the problem with the GUI client. I have Visual Studio closed.

rda
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:47 pm

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by rda » Wed Jan 06, 2010 3:22 pm

Also if it makes a difference, I did a bunch of VSS imports on the repository that was first giving me the trouble -- I started seeing the problem the first time I tried to access the repo with the GUI client after the imports (but other people can access the repo without a problem).

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by Beth » Thu Jan 07, 2010 11:11 am

Old information has to be hanging around somewhere on your system. Could you open your registry and go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\SourceGear\Vault\Client\Settings. In there is an entry for the cache location. What is entered there? Go to that cache location and delete it entirely.

Could you uninstall Vault and then run a search in your registry for SourceGear? Delete entries related to SourceGear. Make sure you make a backup of your registry before you start.

Also uninstall any additional Vault tools you have on your machine, such as the VSS import.

Once everything related to Vault is removed, reinstall. Don't change any options right after the install. Just make sure you can login and access files and let me know your results.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

rda
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:47 pm

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by rda » Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:10 pm

Ok, I uninstalled both the Vault client and the import tool, deleted the cache, deleted every file I could find that referred to SourceGear or Vault, and searched the entire registry, deleted all the entries that referenced SourceGear, restarted my computer, then reinstalled the Vault client without changing any options, but I'm still getting the same error.

So the story thus far:
1: I start importing VSS projects into one of my two Vault repositories.
2: A few days later, I try to access the repository that VSS had been imported to.
3: "The file exists." error appears.
4: I delete the cache for that repository on my local computer. Still get the error.
5: I delete the cache for the other working repository, thinking maybe I deleted the wrong one. Now I'm getting that error on the previously working repo too. The caches look like they rebuild; the files reappear, but I still get the error.
6: Uninstalled/removed/deleted everything I could find that was related to Vault, reinstalled the client, no dice.

Additional info:
- This problem also occurs when I try to load up a project in Visual Studio that is bound to the Vault server.
- Using my login/pass I'm able to get in without a problem on other computers, just not my primary.
- Other people have no problems accessing both repos.
- I can access both repositories using the administration web interface with no problem.

Is there anything else I can try? As you said, it must be something on my local computer but I have no idea where to look, I searched my entire HDD for instances of SourceGear and deleted all of them before I reinstalled.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by Beth » Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:09 pm

If you're using your GUI client, then you can access both repositories?

If this only happens in VS, then it makes me think there is something in your bindings that isn't right. Do you have any changes you made to your code that we need to worry about? If so, make a quick copy of those files and set them off to the side. After that, open Visual Studio, but don't open your solution. Go to VS - Tools - Options - Source Control and make sure your plugin is set to be the same as everyone else's. After that, go to File - Vault Source Control - Open from Vault (File - Source Control - Open from Source Control if on the Classic Client) and open your solution to a new location on disk, preferably a blank folder. Does it open and bind properly?
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

rda
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:47 pm

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by rda » Mon Jan 11, 2010 8:27 am

It happens with both VS and my GUI client with both repositories (now). In the beginning it was only the one repository, with both GUI client and VS. Once I deleted both caches it started happening with both repos. I really need this to work, I have been limping along by using other computers for development but it is very inconvenient; there must be something I can do short of reformatting my HDD to get Vault to work again.

In terms of my source control, we all have the same plug-in set (in fact I'm the one who set it up for everyone in the first place) and when I try to "Open from Source Control" I am able to connect to the repository but then at the place where I normally receive the "File exists" error (which is after I select a repository to connect to), nothing happens. As in, nothing is gotten from source control or anything; an error occurs, but no message displays. VS just does nothing. Presumably it's hitting the same error but the message isn't popping up for whatever reason.

What happens in the GUI client is:
- I start up the client.
- I get to the "Connect to Server" screen. Input my username, password, and a server name.
- I get to the "Choose Repository" screen.
- I select either one of the two repositories that show up.
- The client starts to work, showing the "Retrieving repository information structure from server..." text at the bottom.
- After a moment, a message box pops up that says "SourceGear Vault Error" and tells me "An error has occurred. The error message is:" and in the error text box, it just says "The file exists."

And that's it.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by Beth » Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:27 am

On your cache files, what path did you clear out or rename? Could you run a search for hidden folders called Vault_1? How many do you have on your machine?

One other thing that could be causing that error is the temporary files. Make sure all instances of VS and Vault are closed. Then try clearing out Vault related files from your %temp% folder. Do you see files that either have Vault in their name or files that are named like "tmpXXXXX.tmp" where "XXXXX" is a series of hex digits? You should be able to either rename or remove those files. Then try reopening your Vault GUI client.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

rda
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Jan 26, 2009 3:47 pm

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by rda » Mon Jan 11, 2010 2:05 pm

Seems like that did the trick - I had over 60,000 tmpXXXXX.tmp type files in my %temp% folder; I deleted them all and now Vault is working again!

Thanks so much!

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: "The file exists." error when accessing repository

Post by Beth » Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:00 pm

Thank you for the update.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Post Reply