Using the shelve feature

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
Lane
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:58 am

Using the shelve feature

Post by Lane » Mon Sep 28, 2009 4:54 pm

We just installed 5.0.1, and we're discussing how to use the shelve feature.

Here's a common scenario: I'm working on a file (or set of files), and I want to preserve my work as I go (such as end-of-day or just as I reach certain points in the development process but I'm not quite ready to check in). So I shelve my work.

I will probably want to do that frequently over the course of working on a specific feature or piece of functionality, and over the course of several days or weeks, I might want to shelve my work repeatedly. But I'm only interested in the latest shelved version, so I'll want to give my shelveset the same name each time. When I'm finally done, I'll check in my work and delete the shelveset.

My question is this: is there an easy way to see, inside VS using the Enhanced Client, the name of my shelveset(s)? Or do I have to go to the standalone client to see that?

What I'd like to be able to do is shelve my pending changes and select an existing shelveset I want to update from a list. Any chance that's possible? Or will be soon?

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Using the shelve feature

Post by Beth » Tue Sep 29, 2009 8:45 am

If you open the Pending Changes Window inside of Visual Studio, you will see a few links for accessing your shelve sets. You can open the Pending Changes by going to the View menu in VS and selecting Vault - Vault Pending Changes.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Lane
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:58 am

Re: Using the shelve feature

Post by Lane » Tue Sep 29, 2009 9:44 am

From the Vault Pending Changes window, I click "Shelve All," which opens the "Shelve Changes" window. I have to give the shelveset a name. I want to give it the same name as the existing shelveset. The only way I can see to get that is to close the "Shelve Changes" window, click "Unshelve," select the shelveset I want to replace, click "Details...", copy the name of the shelveset to the clipboard, close, close, click Shelve All again, and paste the shelveset name into the textbox.

Is there an easier way I'm missing?

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Using the shelve feature

Post by Beth » Tue Sep 29, 2009 12:29 pm

You could view the shelve sets using a browser to go to http://<your Vault server>/vaultservice/vaultweb.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

mikemo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:19 pm

Re: Using the shelve feature

Post by mikemo » Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:01 pm

I have the same issue as Lane.

Could you add a feature request to modify the Shelve Changes window so that the Shelveset Name edit box is a combo-box that has the list filled with the current user's existing shelvesets? This way one could type in a shelveset name, or select an existing one.

Lane
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:58 am

Re: Using the shelve feature

Post by Lane » Fri Oct 02, 2009 2:21 pm

Agreed! This would be a big improvement. Thanks.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Using the shelve feature

Post by Beth » Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:12 pm

I have logged a feature request. Thank you for your feedback.

F:; 14923
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Post Reply