Command Line - how to tell if GET pulled any files?

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
ssinger
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 8:54 am

Command Line - how to tell if GET pulled any files?

Post by ssinger » Fri Jun 04, 2004 7:19 am

I am using Vault 2.03(2174). Is there a way to tell if a GET command has actually any copied any source to my working directory? My goal is automatically run a .bat file every night to pull any new source. Then check a return code or something in DOS and run MSBuild to compile the source, if needed.

If anyone has any better suggestions or ideas, then pass them on!

Thank you,

SteveS

jclausius
Posts: 3706
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Fri Jun 04, 2004 7:23 am

Off the top of my head - Could you use the "IF EXIST filename" within a .bat or .cmd for this?
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

ssinger
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2004 8:54 am

Post by ssinger » Fri Jun 04, 2004 7:32 am

"If Exist" indicates whether a file exists or not. I need to know if there were changes to the file. Does Vault.exe set the error level if there are not any files that are copied? In dos, it would read

IF ERRORLEVEL == "1"

Make sense?

jclausius
Posts: 3706
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Fri Jun 04, 2004 7:43 am

I thought you were asking if there was a way to tell if a "GET command copied any source to my working directory?"

What you reallly want is a way to tell if a Get copied any *NEW* source to the working folder.


You could use VAULT.EXE LISTFOLDER before the get, and VAULT.EXE LISTFOLDER after the get, and then compare the results.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

Post Reply