Using command line to get latest version

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
Greg_D
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 1:12 pm

Using command line to get latest version

Post by Greg_D » Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:07 am

I'm trying to automate my build process and basically would like to be able to reproduce the behaviour that happens in the Visual Studio.NET IDE when I right click on my solution file and click on the Get Latest Version (Recursive) menu option. I've looked at the help for the commandline but it looks to me like I can only specify a folder to get the latest versions to. I would like it to replace the files that are currently on my systems. I also searched through the forums but couldn't find anything like this either.

Any thoughts?

Thanks for the help,

Greg

jclausius
Posts: 3706
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:29 am

If this is for a build system, I'd suggest doing a recursive get from the folder of the solution to a NON-working folder for each build.

Something like:

BUILD 101 - vault -server w -repository x - user y -password z GET $/project_folder/ -destpath c:\mybuild\build101\

BUILD 102 - vault -server w -repository x - user y -password z GET $/project_folder/ -destpath c:\mybuild\build102\

BUILD 103 - vault -server w -repository x - user y -password z GET $/project_folder/ -destpath c:\mybuild\build103\
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

Guest

Post by Guest » Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:32 am

It's not really for a build system. I'm just creating a batch file to automatically compile my solution and copy it to a folder on my network. If I do a GET to a non working folder, can I then compile the different projects in that non working folder?

jclausius
Posts: 3706
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Fri Dec 10, 2004 11:45 am

Yes, assuming your project / solution files have relateive paths to the files for the build.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

Greg_D
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 1:12 pm

Post by Greg_D » Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:30 pm

Just trying what you are suggesting. It appears like it is pulling all of my files back just like you said. I think the problem that I'm going to run into is that I have 8 or 9 projects in this solution a couple of which are database projects which could have thousands of files in them. It seems like it is going to take a lot of time to bring all of these files down when only a few may have changed from my working folder. Any thoughts on how I can just refresh the files in my working folder? BTW, this is a web app so some of the files live in My Documents and others are in inetpub.

Thanks for the help so far,

Greg

jclausius
Posts: 3706
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:17 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by jclausius » Fri Dec 10, 2004 12:53 pm

If you have working folders assigned to the user specified to the -user command line option, then removing -destpath <folder> should refresh your current working folders.
Jeff Clausius
SourceGear

Greg_D
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 1:12 pm

Post by Greg_D » Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:14 pm

Thanks that works perfectly. Just had to make sure that all of my working folders were pointing at valid places.

Post Reply