Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
PeJa
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:53 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by PeJa » Tue Jul 14, 2009 4:56 am

Hello,

I have a problem with connecting to Vault server from plugin for Visual Studio 2008. Vault Client and Folder Import/Export works fine. The problem is only with VS Enhanced Client.

Code: Select all

The message from logfile VaultVsipClient2008.txt:
14.7.2009 11:06:46 <generic>:     [System.Exception: Unable to connect to http://lambo/VaultService.  No server was found at the specified URL.  Please verify your network settings using the Options dialog under the Tools menu in the Vault GUI Client.  Web Exception: Platnost operace vypršela.  <---- This is a Time-out message
   at VaultClientNetLib.VaultConnection.Login(String strURLBase, String strUserLogin, String strPassword)
   at VaultClientOperationsLib.ClientInstance.Login(String urlbase, String username, String password)
I have installed:
- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit RC
- Visual Studio 2008 with SP1
- Vault Server 64-bit version 4.1.4.18402 on Windows Server 2008 (64bit)
- Vault Client 4.1.4.18402 (I tried version 4.1.3.18336 without any success.)

On other computer with Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit RC, VS2008 SP1, VC 4.1.4.18402 it works without any problem.

Can you help me?

Regards,
Petr Jarkovsky
Mersite s.r.o.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by Beth » Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:09 am

Can you try the Vault GUI client on the same machine?

Assuming that works, was your project bound to Vault before?

How was your project added to Vault? Was it put there using Visual Studio or the Vault GUI client?
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

PeJa
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:53 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by PeJa » Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:59 am

Can you try the Vault GUI client on the same machine?
Yes, Vault GUI Client works on the same machine without problems.
Assuming that works, was your project bound to Vault before?
How was your project added to Vault? Was it put there using Visual Studio or the Vault GUI client?
Yes, we have more projects in Vault. Some was added by GUI Client, some by VS plugin.

I have these problems with login to Vault server (not only by open some project/solution).
For example:
- open VS 2008 SP1
- File / Vault Source Control / Open From Vault...
- Choose Profile or enter login information
- after click OK (and after ..1 minute) I get the error message "Unable to connect to ..."

second example:
- open VS 2008 SP1
- File / Vault Source Control / Open From Vault...
- click Edit Profiles...
- click New...
- enter Login information
- click Get Repository List...
- ...error message


Petr Jarkovsky

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by Beth » Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:07 am

Does this happen with all projects or just one?

Was Vault installed after installing VS 2008?

Do you have any other versions of Visual Studio on your machine? If so, can they connect to Vault? If not, were there any versions you uninstalled?
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

PeJa
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:53 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by PeJa » Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:28 am

Does this happen with all projects or just one?
It doesn't rely on any project. I can't get to selecting any project or repository. When I open the project bounded to Vault repository, I get the same.
Was Vault installed after installing VS 2008?
Yes, after VS2008, after SP1. (I tried to install Vault 4.1.4, uninstall 4.1.4, install 4.1.3 and back to 4.1.4.)
Do you have any other versions of Visual Studio on your machine? If so, can they connect to Vault? If not, were there any versions you uninstalled?
No, only VS2008. It is new and "clear" computer.

I thing the problem may be in compatibility with Windows 7 64bit, because on other computer with the same software Vault works fine.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by Beth » Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:48 am

Does your Vault Server Log show any errors at the same time you are trying to access the server?

Could you start up some VS logging by going to Tools - Options - Source Control - Integration Options and select Enable Diagnostic Logging? Then try the scenario again and check both logs for what they have to say. Your VS log will be in %temp%, which should be something like C:\Users\AppData\Local\temp.

(If you saw an additional post about an Add button, please ignore that. I posted that to the wrong thread.)
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

PeJa
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:53 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by PeJa » Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:21 am

I tried it one more time and here are the results.

This is the server log after one successful login with GUI Client and one unsuccessful login with Plugin client.

Code: Select all

# SourceGear Vault Server
----15.7.2009 12:08:40       peja--pejaPC(192.168.1.52)--SSL Disabled	Login
The Plugin Client log is attached.
Attachments
VaultVsipClient2008.txt
Client log
(18.57 KiB) Downloaded 244 times

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by lbauer » Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:10 pm

The Visual Studio log shows the same timeout and failure to connect to the server. We're not sure why you can't connect. We haven't tested Vault 4.x on Windows 7 64-bit so there could be some type of configuration or compatibility issue.

Have you tried creating a test project and trying to add it using the Classic Integration Client in Visual Studio?
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by Beth » Mon Jul 20, 2009 9:02 am

Could you place your Vault server log into debug mode? That is done from inside the admin web page under the logging link.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

PeJa
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:53 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by PeJa » Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:06 am

Could you place your Vault server log into debug mode?
If you mean the server trace log, so it is attached.
Have you tried creating a test project and trying to add it using the Classic Integration Client in Visual Studio?
Yes, but with the same result.
Attachments
Trace - Login failed.zip
(2.34 KiB) Downloaded 193 times

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by Beth » Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:49 am

Look in your Vault admin web page. That's where the logging should be changed. I've attached a screenshot. The log then is located in C:\Windows\temp\sgvault\sgvault.log.

Based on what you did post though, I'd like you to try turning off the keep-alives. That is found in your IIS Manager in the properties of the website you installed Vault to. I've attached a screenshot showing that as well. Un-check the box.
Attachments
keep alives.JPG
keep alives.JPG (36.23 KiB) Viewed 7318 times
Set logging.JPG
Set logging.JPG (26.29 KiB) Viewed 7318 times
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

PeJa
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:53 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by PeJa » Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:49 am

Now I did it, but the server log (in debug mode) after trying to login from VS contains this message (nothing else):

Code: Select all

# SourceGear Vault Server
I tried to capture communication between my PC and the server (the result is attached) and it looks like the server is contacted (HTTP POST) and waits for next information (the real SOAP message) from client and when it don't get by 90 seconds, returns error message. In GUI client SOAP message with "http://www.sourcegear.com/schemas/vault ... ceVersions" continues after these HTTP POST and GET messages.

...By the way - the login by your API example is OK.
Attachments
Network.txt
Communication between my PC and server
(2.11 KiB) Downloaded 220 times

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by Beth » Fri Jul 24, 2009 3:17 pm

Do you have anti-virus on that machine? if so, try disabling that and see if it makes a difference.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

PeJa
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:53 am
Location: Czech republic
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by PeJa » Thu Aug 06, 2009 2:49 am

Even though I turned off antivirus, the problem remained.
Did you try (or anyone else) to run VS plugin on Windows 7 64bit? It works OK? Unfortunately, I haven't the opportunity to try on other computer.
Thanks.

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Re: Connection problem with plugin for VS2008

Post by Beth » Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:37 am

I'm going to put together a new virtual environment to try this out on. I know we tried things on Windows 7 and on 64-bit machines, but I'm unsure if we tried a 64-bit Windows 7 machine. I'll let you know as soon as I get this together.
Beth Kieler
SourceGear Technical Support

Post Reply