Have to rebind VS 2008 Web Project everytime I re-open.

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

ablack
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 10:47 am

Have to rebind VS 2008 Web Project everytime I re-open.

Post by ablack » Tue May 27, 2008 10:59 am

I am using VS 2008 with XP SP2 and Vault 4.1.1 Enhanced Client. Every time I open a solution containing a Web Project, I have to rebind to Vault. This is not unique to a single solution but happens with all solutions. I have installed the hot fix https://connect.microsoft.com/VisualStu ... adID=10826

Please advise.

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by ian_sg » Tue May 27, 2008 12:23 pm

How are you opening these solutions? Via Open From Vault, or are you opening the solution directly from disk? Where is the web site on disk, relative to the solution file?

This and this article from the FAQ (and the one just after it) may be helpful.
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

ablack
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 10:47 am

Post by ablack » Tue May 27, 2008 12:49 pm

My folder structure is

...Project_A (folder)
......Project_A.sln
......Web (folder)
..........web.csproj
..........default.aspx
.........default.cs
.........web.config
......DataObjects (folder)
.........DataObjects.csproj
.........Customer.cs

And I am opening the .sln from the VS File>Open Project... and selecting the .sln file.

The Vault client shows this same folder structure.

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by ian_sg » Tue May 27, 2008 12:57 pm

What working folder assignments are relevant to this solution? Is there just one for the Project_A folder, or are there several?
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

ablack
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 10:47 am

Post by ablack » Wed May 28, 2008 6:16 am

The folder/file names given are for example only.

The working folder assignments match the local folder structure with Project_A being immediately below the repository root $ with the Web and DataObject folders projects immediately below that. This is the first project I have migrated from VSS but I did not use the import tool. I checked everything back into VSS, unbound it, changed my SC plugin in VS to Vault Enhanced, then added this solution to Vault from VS. My actual solution has 4 projects beneath the solution folder and the only project that I have to constantly rebind after re-opening the solution is the Web project.

ablack
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 10:47 am

Post by ablack » Wed May 28, 2008 7:17 am

Additionally, the Web project folder does have subfolders related to the project such as App_Code, App_Themes, etc

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by ian_sg » Wed May 28, 2008 7:55 am

I realize that these are just sample names. :)

In the stand-alone client, try removing and re-assigning the working folder for Project_A, and select the "force all subfolders to inherit working folder" checkbox.

Re-open the solution in Visual Studio. Does everything work immediately, or are you forced to locate a project in the repository?
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

ablack
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 10:47 am

Post by ablack » Wed May 28, 2008 8:03 am

I am not sure what you mean by "are you forced to locate a project in the repository" I did not receive any messages relative to this and all projects seemed to load and bind to Vault with the exception of the Web project which loaded but did not bind.

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by ian_sg » Wed May 28, 2008 8:06 am

Try this:

1. Unbind the whole solution.
2. Exit the change bindings dialog.
3. Save All.
4. Rebind the whole solution.
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

ablack
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 10:47 am

Post by ablack » Wed May 28, 2008 8:13 am

No joy.

After following your instructions and rebinding the whole solution, I closed the solution, exited from VS, re-started VS and re-opened the solution. Web was still not bound. So rebound Web and closed the solution. Then I opened the solution file by File>Vault Source Control>Open from Vault and selecting the .sln. Everything loaded but Web was still not bound.

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by ian_sg » Wed May 28, 2008 8:18 am

Does the web project have source-control status icons before you bind it? Are the source control commands available on it when you right-click? Basically: does it appear to be bound everywhere but in the change bindings dialog?

Does its csproj file have a section that looks like this?

Code: Select all

    <SccProjectName>WebApplication1</SccProjectName>
    <SccLocalPath>2~614aebd2-adb5-4ef6-b2ad-701a2de450a5</SccLocalPath>
    <SccAuxPath>http://localhost/VaultService</SccAuxPath>
    <SccProvider>SourceGear Vault Visual Studio 2005 Client:{7BE9CE03-56BF-4682-9C06-78C68B134B30}</SccProvider>
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

ablack
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 10:47 am

Post by ablack » Thu May 29, 2008 9:08 am

There are not any source control status icons before I bind the project but Check Out/Check In options are available on right click. And checking out using right click does update the status in the Vault stand-alone client. However, while the Undo-checkout option becomes available on right click, it does nothing.

My web.csproj file has the following

Code: Select all

  <PropertyGroup>
      .
      .
    <SccProjectName>SAK</SccProjectName>
    <SccLocalPath>SAK</SccLocalPath>
    <SccAuxPath>SAK</SccAuxPath>
    <SccProvider>SAK</SccProvider>
      .
      .
  </PropertyGroup>

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by ian_sg » Thu May 29, 2008 10:22 am

There's your problem. This indicates that the project is bound to a MSSCCI client (could be Vault or VSS).

Remove "SAK" from these project files and try rebinding with the enhanced client.
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

ablack
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 10:47 am

Post by ablack » Thu May 29, 2008 10:38 am

Did not help. I closed my solution, edited the .csproj file removing the <Scc--- tags and reopened the solution and rebound the project. Closed the solution and there was no change to the .csproj (source control info not added). Reopened the solution and the web project was not bound. Closed solution, edited .csproj, this time leaving the <Scc--- tags but removed the SAK text content from each tag. Reopened .sln, rebound web project, closed solution, still not change to .csproj relative the SC info, and when I re-opened solution both from my local copy or from Vault, the web project is still not bound.

ian_sg
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed May 04, 2005 10:55 am
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by ian_sg » Fri May 30, 2008 8:05 am

When you bind, does it look like the bind succeeded? Does the project show "valid?"

I can't reproduce this anything like this behavior, and I'm not sure what else I could be missing. Could you send me a screenshot of the solution in Visual Studio and the change bindings dialog
Ian Olsen
SourceGear

Post Reply