Error registering project

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
DesertDude
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:20 pm

Error registering project

Post by DesertDude » Mon Aug 06, 2007 12:43 pm

I am moving a project from an old machine to a new one. I am using a procedure that has worked correctly for all my projects except one which is generating an error message. Here's the procedure performed for the failing project on the new machine after checking in the project on the old machine:

1. Open VS 2003
2. File/Source Control/Open From Source Control...
3. Log in to Vault
4. Select project in Vault and location on local machine
5. Open Solution window appears showing local folder containing sln and vbproj file. Double-click on sln file.
6. Set Project Location window appears showing project name correctly, <Unable to Display> in Source Control Server Location, and correct local folder in Enter Working Copy Location Here. Click OK.
7. Error appears: The project 'iscd_MMQ_vb' is under source control. An error occurred registering this project with source control. It is recommended that you do not make any changes to this project.

I've tried creating a new project from scratch in VS2003 on the new machine and copying in the files from the old machine, but when I open the project, it's locked by source control (little blue locks appear next to the items in Solution Explorer), and if I try to open a file, it tells me it can't open the designer because not all classes are built, or something like that.

Please help. Thank you.

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Mon Aug 06, 2007 1:09 pm

Based on what you've written, I'm assuming this is a Web Project. If that assumption is correct, you need to
  • make sure you have IIS installed on the new machine.
  • In the dialog that asks you to specify the Project location, make sure the location you choose is a valid IIS path.

DesertDude
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:20 pm

Post by DesertDude » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:04 pm

IIS is installed and the path is valid. As I mentioned, this is the only project that has not successfully transferred.

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:09 pm

Ahh... gotcha. All of your other Web Projects are working except this one?

Can you use the Admin tool and make sure that no files are checked out in this particular project on the old machine. If so, you should undo those checkouts.

After your error in step 7, what happens? Does the IDE close or does it continue to load, asking you to work disconnected?

DesertDude
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:20 pm

Post by DesertDude » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:09 pm

How do I tell a project to stop using Vault? How do I disconnect a project from Vault?

DesertDude
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:20 pm

Post by DesertDude » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:12 pm

Nothing is checked out on the old machine. As for "Gotcha," I see it differently: this is the only project that Vault has screwed up royally.

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:12 pm

You have to Unbind it. This is found on File-->Source Control-->Change Source Control menu.

However, it has to be loaded in the Visual Studio before you get that option.

DesertDude
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:20 pm

Post by DesertDude » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:22 pm

After that message I get another one:

"The project file c:\inetpub\wwwroot\iscd_MMQ_vb\iscd_MMQ_vb.vbproj is not bound to source control, but the solution contains source control binding information for it. Do you want to open the project using source control binding information from the solution or open it as unbound and fix the solution file?"

If I open it using source control binding information from the solution, all my files appear with yellow exclamation symbols. I can fidget with it until they appear locked, then check them out, but then if I try to open a .ascx file in the solution, it says that it can't open the designer and opens only the HTML. If I choose to open it as unbound, I get another message:

"While attempting to update source control binding information, Visual Studio could not check out the project file, possibily because it is exclusively checked out to another user. You must check out the project file as soon as possible, to reconcile the local changes with the master file."

But I refresh the screen in Vault and nothing is checked out! That's the other annoying thing about Vault. It can't seem to get this stuff right: Often when a project is checked out, I right click on it to check it in and only see a check out option. It can't seem to keep track properly of what's going on.

DesertDude
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:20 pm

Post by DesertDude » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:23 pm

Yeah, well, I've gone to Change Source Control and see no indication in there of how to unbind it.

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:26 pm

<ul>
<li>Go to <b>File > Source Control > Change Source Control</b>
<li>Select <b>Solution: YOURSOLUTIONNAME.sln </b>and click<b> Unbind</b>
<li>Select <b>YOURPROJECTNAME</b> and click <b>Unbind</b>
</ul>

DesertDude
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:20 pm

Post by DesertDude » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:26 pm

I take that back: I see how to unbind. I've unbound, let's see if that helps... Stand by, please.

DesertDude
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:20 pm

Post by DesertDude » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:30 pm

No luck. I'm getting the same message. But the project is unbound from source control on the old machine. What is leading Vault to believe that it is still under source control?

DesertDude
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:20 pm

Post by DesertDude » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:39 pm

Actually, and so what if it is under source control? The other projects that are working successfully after the "transfer" are also under source control on the old machine. I have not had to unbind any of them. This is frustrating.

DesertDude
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:20 pm

Post by DesertDude » Mon Aug 06, 2007 2:55 pm

OK, I think I've solved it:

After unbinding the project from source control, I renamed the folder in Vault and added the project to source control freshly from the old machine. This time, I did not get any error messages when I opened the project from source control on the new machine. It came in with all items locked. What a bunch of hoops to jump through, though!

Terence
Posts: 164
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 2:43 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by Terence » Mon Aug 06, 2007 3:20 pm

I agree that is a lot of effort to get that to work. Without seeing your setup, it's difficult for me to say what went wrong and where.

I'm glad it's finally working for you.

Post Reply