Error doing GETVERSION

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
tomcat2001
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:35 am

Error doing GETVERSION

Post by tomcat2001 » Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:22 pm

I am attempting to use the getversion on the command line and am having troubles. Posted below is what I'm doing. A working folder is set, but it seems to be having some issues.

C:\Program Files\SourceGear\Vault Client>vault versionhistory $ -rowlimit 1
<vault>
<history>
<item version="23215" date="2/14/2007 1:10:05 PM" user="ljohnson" txid="24146"/>
</history>
<result success="yes" />
</vault>

C:\Program Files\SourceGear\Vault Client>vault getversion 23215 $ -useworkingfolder "C:/Code"
<vault>
<error>
Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
</error>
<exception>
System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an obj
ect.
at VaultClientOperationsLib.VaultClientFolder..ctor(VaultFolderDelta fd, Vaul
tClientFolder parent)
at VaultCmdLineClient.VaultCmdLineClient.performGetVersion(VaultClientTreeObj
ect treeObjectToRetrieve, Int32 version, Boolean useWorkingFolder, MergeType mt,
String strDestFolder)
at VaultCmdLineClient.VaultCmdLineClient.ProcessCommandGetVersion(Int32 versi
on, String strReposItem, String strDestFolder)
at VaultCmdLineClient.VaultCmdLineClient.ProcessCommand(Args curArg)
at VaultCmdLineClient.VaultCmdLineClient.Main(String[] args)
</exception>
<result success="no" />
</vault>
Lance Johnson

tomcat2001
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:35 am

Post by tomcat2001 » Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:23 pm

Forgot to mention but I'm on 3.1.9.3798.
Lance Johnson

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by Beth » Wed Feb 14, 2007 4:56 pm

I ran the same commands here on $ and didn't get an error.

What happens if you perform a Get on root in the GUI client?

The one difference with mine is that I have to specify the repository. Could you try once with the repository option added?

tomcat2001
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:35 am

Post by tomcat2001 » Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:56 pm

That doesn't seem to help. The only reason I even tried these commands manually is because I'm using CruiseControl for automated builds and noticed this error. Previously this was working, but we've since upgraded to the latest of CruiseControl and Vault (that we own).

I can manually do a get on the command line fine. It's this getversion call. Is there a call similar to this in the GUI?
Lance Johnson

tomcat2001
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:35 am

Post by tomcat2001 » Wed Feb 14, 2007 6:58 pm

I found out how to attempt to do this in the GUI. The error message I receive is that "The request vesion (23215) of $ can not be found in the current repository. If this object has been deleted, you will need to undelete it and try again." I get this when attempting to get any version using the "Get Tree" button. Or the "View Tree" button.
Lance Johnson

tomcat2001
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:35 am

Post by tomcat2001 » Thu Feb 15, 2007 3:06 pm

I have attempted the previous version we were on 3.1.5 of the client without success also. Please let me know what the reason could be. Is there something not right in the db? Just let me know what to do so we can get this resolved. We can't use CruiseControl.Net with this.
Lance Johnson

Beth
Posts: 8550
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:24 pm
Location: SourceGear
Contact:

Post by Beth » Thu Feb 15, 2007 3:06 pm

Could you try Clearing the Client Side Cache and then try the command line again?

tomcat2001
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 10:35 am

Post by tomcat2001 » Thu Feb 15, 2007 3:50 pm

Well I found out the problem. It seems to be some kind of security issue. I didn't have any kind of default security rights set for this user. Now they are part of a group that should give them the rights they need. I can do a normal "Get" fine. However, if I give them the default right of Read, it works fine.
Lance Johnson

Post Reply