Branching and Web Projects

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
JPrime
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 10:03 pm

Branching and Web Projects

Post by JPrime » Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:00 pm

This is kind of a "how should I" question:

We have a solution structured this way:

Code: Select all

$/
  OurProduct/
    Source/
      Solution/
        solution.file
        webproject1/
        webproject2/
We want to branch off development now (as we're releasing). I've read Eric's article on branching on his blog (a very good read), and I'm thinking of doing the branch like this:

Code: Select all

$/
  OurProduct/
    v1.0/
      Solution/
        solution.file
        webproject1/
        webproject2/
    Source/
      Solution/
        solution.file
        webproject1/
        webproject2/
This way we can apply fixes in the 1.0 and merge them into the main line (source, in our case). My question is this: We're doing our development in VS.Net, and our web projects are bound to virtual directories in IIS. I'm not going to be able to open the branched solution, because VS.Net and Vault and IIS are all going to throw a massive hissy fit that the web project I'm trying to open isn't in the right place on disk now. (IE the vdir points to source/solution/webproject1, not v1.0/solution/webproject1). Is there some step I'm missing? Should my bug fixes be applied using notepad?

Thanks!

Jonas

jeremy_sg
Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 11:39 am
Location: Sourcegear
Contact:

Post by jeremy_sg » Wed Jun 15, 2005 6:34 pm

My workaround here is to download the branched Service files to a new under, and then use the IIS AdminScripts to point the Virtual Directory to the build dir. This is what my batch file looks like.

Code: Select all

c:\InetPub\AdminScripts\stopweb.vbs -a 1
c:\InetPub\AdminScripts\adsutil.vbs DELETE w3svc/1/root/WebService
c:\InetPub\AdminScripts\mkwebdir -w "Default Web Site" -v "WebService","DISKPATHTO\WebService"
c:\InetPub\AdminScripts\chaccess -a w3svc/1/ROOT/WebService +read -write +script +execute
c:\InetPub\AdminScripts\adsutil.vbs APPCREATEPOOLPROC w3svc/1/root/WebService
c:\InetPub\AdminScripts\startweb.vbs -a 1

A similar batch file for the trunk web service will let you switch between them easily. Note that your batch file will also need to delete your c:\documents and settings\user\vswebcachec:\documents and settings\user\vswebcache directory every time that you switch.

andrew shearer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:34 pm

Post by andrew shearer » Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:39 pm

hello,
can anyone tell me the exact reason why vswebcache needs to be cleared?

thanks for the batch file jeremy_sg!!!

jeremy_sg
Posts: 1821
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2003 11:39 am
Location: Sourcegear
Contact:

Post by jeremy_sg » Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:56 pm

Sorry, but I don't know for sure why Visual Studio relies on this cache directory, or why it doesn't fail more gracefully.

andrew shearer
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:34 pm

Post by andrew shearer » Tue Dec 06, 2005 2:10 pm

i didn't clear my cache and Visual Studio did not fail... that why i am wondering why you needed to remove the cache as part of your batch.
thanks

hopefully someone else has an :idea:

Post Reply