Same username on multiple PCs does not work in Visual Studio

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

eduphoria
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 11:20 pm
Contact:

Same username on multiple PCs does not work in Visual Studio

Post by eduphoria » Sun Oct 16, 2005 11:24 pm

I'm using two computers to develop, a laptop and a workstation. When I check out a file on one computer it shows up as checked out on the other when using the same username. The vault GUI client knows the difference between the two PCs, but the IDE client or Visual Studio does not. This makes it impossible for me to leave any file check out when moving between PCs.

Our company has 9 solutions we work on regularly so this is a major issue. I can't open and check-in 9 solutions just because I am switching computers.

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by lbauer » Mon Oct 17, 2005 7:53 am

The Vault server keeps track of all checked out files, so files will have a checked out status for any user on any machine.
The vault GUI client knows the difference between the two PCs, but the IDE client or Visual Studio does not.
What specific problem or errors are you encountering?
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

eduphoria
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 11:20 pm
Contact:

Post by eduphoria » Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:57 am

Here is the exact scenario where it breaks:

JohnS checks out file $/Dev/Solution/Project/File1.cs on PC1 using Visual Studio.

From the vault client on PC1 JohnS sees the file checked out to himself and can check it in.

From the vault client on PC2 JohnS sees the file checked out to himself but cannot check it in since it was checked out on PC1.

JohnS opens the same solution in Visual Studio on PC2 and File1.cs shows up as checked out.

JohnS can check in File1.cs from PC2 (undo-checkout) leaving the copy on PC1 as renegade.


This is not the behavior of VSS. With VSS checking out a file on another machine shows it as exclusively locked.

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by lbauer » Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:26 pm

I was able to reproduce this. I'll log it to our bug database and we'll investigate whether we can fix this. Sometimes Visual Studio does things we don't have much control over.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

eduphoria
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 11:20 pm
Contact:

Post by eduphoria » Mon Oct 17, 2005 7:34 pm

Glad to know I'm not crazy. Thanks for looking into this. I think you have a great product. There is no way we could continue to manage all of our projects in VSS.

eduphoria
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 11:20 pm
Contact:

Post by eduphoria » Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:44 pm

Was this issue addressed in the latest update to vault?

adrian109

Has this problem been fixed ?

Post by adrian109 » Tue Nov 01, 2005 4:27 am

Can you tell me if this problem has been fixed, and from which version ?

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by lbauer » Tue Nov 01, 2005 11:04 am

No, this hasn't been fixed yet. We still need to determine whether we even can fix it, since we don't have control over everything Visual Studio does.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Henrik
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 5:45 pm
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Post by Henrik » Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:21 pm

I'm also interested in this topic as I develop on 3 separate workstations and all three are kept synced at the file/folder level.

example.

I check out file myprog.cpp on workstation A, sync A with B and want to continue to develop on B, then later check in the myprog.cpp from workstation B.

DarrelMiller
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 05, 2004 10:43 am

Developing on multiple PCs

Post by DarrelMiller » Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:31 pm

I'd even consider paying for support to get that fix :-)

If VSS can do it, surely you can too!

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by lbauer » Wed Jan 04, 2006 2:56 pm

This is logged for possible fixing in Vault 4.0. I've bumped it up in priority. If anyone else is experiencing this problem, let us know -- the more "votes," the more likely we'll get it addressed, if we can.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

eduphoria
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 11:20 pm
Contact:

Post by eduphoria » Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:39 am

I the mean time I have had lost or temporarily misplaced files required for updates becuase they were renegade. This is not a small bug by any means. You have a bug that makes it very easy to loose days worth of work. Is there an ETA on version 4?

gmagana
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 10:51 am
Location: Santa Ana, CA, USA

Post by gmagana » Fri Jan 06, 2006 2:48 pm

Since you asked for votes... Add one more... I do this sort of thing all the time (develop on multiple PCs at the same time), I guess I'm lucky I have not lost much work because of this (I'm the "check-in early and often" type).
gabriel magana-gonzalez

alovhaug
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 2:15 pm

Post by alovhaug » Fri Jan 06, 2006 2:57 pm

Add another vote - this feature would be helpful to me, too.

montek
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2004 8:46 am

Post by montek » Wed Jan 25, 2006 4:34 pm

Ditto!

Post Reply