working with multiple repositories

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
Thomi
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:17 am

working with multiple repositories

Post by Thomi » Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:45 am

Hi,

I'm working with Vault ver. 3.5.1 and VS 6

I'm working on mutlipel projects, and each project is hosted in a separate vault repository. however, each project has a very similar directory structure. I have all the projects on my hard disk like this:

C:\work\Project1
C:\work\Project2
...
...

Note that the "Project1" and "Project2" folders aren't part of the repository themselves - they are the root folder for the files under source control.

Each repository hosts a large number of individual visual studio projects, and as mentioned above, the location of these projects within each repository is similar. So, there might be:

C:\work\Project1\drivers\foo\foo.dsp

and

C:\work\Project2\drivers\foo\foo.dsp


While the names of the .dsp files may be similar, the code itself contains some key differences.

The problem is that when opening visual studio, the user connects to a single repository, and remains connected to that same repository, even if I open another project from a different repository. This gets vault very confused indeed, and I often end up changing code in the wrong repository.


It seems that a simple fix would be to warn the user that the project they are trying to open on disk does not have the same working folder as the same project does in the repository.


Is there an option for this, or a similar way to solve my problem?


Thanks,

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Post by lbauer » Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:49 am

It's possible that in this particular IDE, the bindings are to the Vault server, rather than the specific repository. We can log a bug to look into this.

Our suggestion would be to close Visual Studio and then reopen when you start a different project.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Thomi
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:17 am

Post by Thomi » Thu Oct 18, 2007 9:18 am

Thanks, this is a very annoying problem in our current workflow.

I don't think there's a need to re-log in to the server every time a project file is opened, but it'd be nice to have a configuration option so that you can choose a repository every time a project is opened...


OR - try and work out which repository to open based on the project's working path....



Thanks again for looking into this!

Post Reply