Hi,
We have developers in 2 different geographical locations.
Site A is connected via LAN to the SourceSafe database
Site B is connected via WAN
We would like developers in Site A to use SourceSafe as the source control provider in Visual Studio 2005, and developers in Site B to use Source Offsite (purely because of licensing costs).
Is this approach possible? I tried it but got the following error when I opened the solution using Visual Studio.
"The solution appears to be under source control, but its binding information cannot be found. It is possible that the MSSCCPRJ.SCC file or another item that holds the source control settings for the solution, has been deleted. Because it is not possible to recover the missing information automatically, the projects whose bindings are missing will be treated as not under source control."
Subsequently VS 2005 asks me to rebind the solution again.
Co-existence of SourceOffsite 4.1.2 and SourceSafe 2005
Moderator: SourceGear
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:59 am
-
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 1:59 am
The Microsoft IDE is altering the solution file, depending on whether you are using SOS or VSS.
You may be to manually edit the .sln file.
If the .sln was last updated by VSS, look for the line that reads:
SccProvider = "MSSCCI:Microsoft Visual SourceSafe"
If the .sln was last updated by SOS, look for the line that reads:
SccProvider = "MSSCCI:SourceOffSite"
In either case, set the SccProvider to "SAK"
So, this is what the line should look like, once you've edited it:
SccProvider = "SAK"
Using SAK notation causes Visual Studio to look in the MSSCCPRJ.SCC
file for binding information.
You may be to manually edit the .sln file.
If the .sln was last updated by VSS, look for the line that reads:
SccProvider = "MSSCCI:Microsoft Visual SourceSafe"
If the .sln was last updated by SOS, look for the line that reads:
SccProvider = "MSSCCI:SourceOffSite"
In either case, set the SccProvider to "SAK"
So, this is what the line should look like, once you've edited it:
SccProvider = "SAK"
Using SAK notation causes Visual Studio to look in the MSSCCPRJ.SCC
file for binding information.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:21 am
I have the same problem and the solutions seems not to work.
VSS 6.0
SourceOffSite 4.1.2
I have a solution (.sln) with two projects (.vcproj). I have modified the sln and both vcproj files to use "SAK" instead of "MSSCCI:Microsoft Visual SourceSafe" but I keep getting the same error.
With the original files I open the solution then close it and it tells me the solution and both projects have been modified. If I click yes to save them they are all checked out and the MSSCCI:Microsoft Visual SourceSafe replaced by "MSSCCI:SourceOffSite"
Any ideas?
VSS 6.0
SourceOffSite 4.1.2
I have a solution (.sln) with two projects (.vcproj). I have modified the sln and both vcproj files to use "SAK" instead of "MSSCCI:Microsoft Visual SourceSafe" but I keep getting the same error.
With the original files I open the solution then close it and it tells me the solution and both projects have been modified. If I click yes to save them they are all checked out and the MSSCCI:Microsoft Visual SourceSafe replaced by "MSSCCI:SourceOffSite"
Any ideas?
For SOS with VSS 6.0, try the steps in this KB article:
http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=1149
http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic.php?t=1149
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager