Please help me figure out this error of command line client

If you are having a problem using Vault, post a message here.

Moderator: SourceGear

Post Reply
riyo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:05 am

Please help me figure out this error of command line client

Post by riyo » Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:26 am

Hi All

Hope everyone has a nice day.

I'm new to this tool and this forum, so please be more patient about my question.

When I use the command line client application vault.exe with right authentication information as following command

Code: Select all

vault.exe get -user myname -host myvaulthost -password mypassword -repository TestRepository -merge overwrite
But it will give me an error without useful message for me :cry: . I have uploaded my log.

Does anyone help me check this error and make it work?
Attachments
1.txt
(66.14 KiB) Downloaded 280 times

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: Please help me figure out this error of command line cli

Post by lbauer » Thu Mar 29, 2012 7:35 am

I don't see any errors in the log. But your command is missing the repository path. Besides specifying the respository name, the command needs a folder or file path.

Code: Select all

GET
vault,exe GET -host myvaultserver -user username -
password "password" -repository "RepositoryName" $/FolderABC/Subfolder/FileA.txt" -merge overwrite -setfiletime current
If you wanted to GET the entire Test Repository from the root folder, your command would look like this:

Code: Select all

vault.exe get -user myname -host myvaulthost -password mypassword -repository TestRepository "$/" -merge overwrite
Let me know if this does not resolve the problem.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

riyo
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 4:05 am

Re: Please help me figure out this error of command line cli

Post by riyo » Thu Mar 29, 2012 10:04 pm

lbauer wrote:I don't see any errors in the log. But your command is missing the repository path. Besides specifying the respository name, the command needs a folder or file path.

Code: Select all

GET
vault,exe GET -host myvaultserver -user username -
password "password" -repository "RepositoryName" $/FolderABC/Subfolder/FileA.txt" -merge overwrite -setfiletime current
If you wanted to GET the entire Test Repository from the root folder, your command would look like this:

Code: Select all

vault.exe get -user myname -host myvaulthost -password mypassword -repository TestRepository "$/" -merge overwrite
Let me know if this does not resolve the problem.
Thank you very much, Linda.

The problem is gone after I added a specfic path to my command. It looks like I didn't understand this command usage well, anyway thanks again.

lbauer
Posts: 9736
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:25 pm
Location: SourceGear

Re: Please help me figure out this error of command line cli

Post by lbauer » Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:05 am

Glad that helped. :D

We have examples of specific commands in this KB article:

http://support.sourcegear.com/viewtopic ... 13&t=15235

It might help you as you create your scripts for the Command Line Client.
Linda Bauer
SourceGear
Technical Support Manager

Post Reply