Unable to open branched solution
Moderator: SourceGear
-
- Posts: 112
- Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
- Location: Birmingham, AL
Unable to open branched solution
After branching a solution in Fortress, I'm unable to open it using the VS2003 client.
Some back-story:
I was using the 2005 client, but it was so buggy that when 1.0.1 was released, I re-binded my solution back to the 2003 client.
After branching the solution, I went to File --> Source Control --> Open from Source Control, and Selected the solution folder. I was greeted with this error:
Checking on disk, I can see that the solution was fetched, but none of the files for the projects were retrieved. Checking the Bindings in the "Change Source Control", revealed that Visual Studio thought the solution was not bound to Fortress.
So I thought I'd out-smart it by doing a Get Latest from Fortress manually and then opening the solution.
Opening the solution produced these two error messages:
And the same result as before, the solution file loaded, showing all projects as unavailable, and the solution not appearing to be under source control.
So, again, I thought I'd outsmart it by removing all the projects and re-adding them. No luck there either, Visual Studio popped this in my face:
Is this a bug related to the solution once being bound to the 2005 client? With Vault 3.x I could branch and open solutions all day long, it even seemed to get smarter about re-binding after a branch in one of the later releases (although I never experimented to confirm that).
Am I out of luck when it comes to branching now?
Some back-story:
I was using the 2005 client, but it was so buggy that when 1.0.1 was released, I re-binded my solution back to the 2003 client.
After branching the solution, I went to File --> Source Control --> Open from Source Control, and Selected the solution folder. I was greeted with this error:
Checking on disk, I can see that the solution was fetched, but none of the files for the projects were retrieved. Checking the Bindings in the "Change Source Control", revealed that Visual Studio thought the solution was not bound to Fortress.
So I thought I'd out-smart it by doing a Get Latest from Fortress manually and then opening the solution.
Opening the solution produced these two error messages:
And the same result as before, the solution file loaded, showing all projects as unavailable, and the solution not appearing to be under source control.
So, again, I thought I'd outsmart it by removing all the projects and re-adding them. No luck there either, Visual Studio popped this in my face:
Is this a bug related to the solution once being bound to the 2005 client? With Vault 3.x I could branch and open solutions all day long, it even seemed to get smarter about re-binding after a branch in one of the later releases (although I never experimented to confirm that).
Am I out of luck when it comes to branching now?
-
- Posts: 112
- Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
- Location: Birmingham, AL
I branched the entire solution. The structure looks like this:
Project Folder
--Solution Folder
----Project Folder 1
----Project Folder 2
----Project Folder 3
----Project Folder 4
(using dashes to indicate indention)
The .sln is in the Solution Folder.
Project Folder
--Solution Folder
----Project Folder 1
----Project Folder 2
----Project Folder 3
----Project Folder 4
(using dashes to indicate indention)
The .sln is in the Solution Folder.
Beth wrote:Did you branch just a portion of it or the entire solution?
-
- Posts: 112
- Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
- Location: Birmingham, AL
-
- Posts: 112
- Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
- Location: Birmingham, AL
OS: Vista UltimateBeth wrote:We'd like to recreate the issue, but we need some more details, so I will need the one posting above this answered (OS and service pack on VS) and another question:
If you branch a project/solution that does not have a web project in it, do you still have the same issue?
Visual Studio: Pro with SP 1
I'll run a test with a solution that doesn't have a web project in it tonight and post my findings.
Thanks!
-
- Posts: 112
- Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
- Location: Birmingham, AL
-
- Posts: 112
- Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
- Location: Birmingham, AL
I tried branching with 3 different solutions without any web projects and it appears to branch without a problem.dist0rti0n wrote:OS: Vista UltimateBeth wrote:We'd like to recreate the issue, but we need some more details, so I will need the one posting above this answered (OS and service pack on VS) and another question:
If you branch a project/solution that does not have a web project in it, do you still have the same issue?
Visual Studio: Pro with SP 1
I'll run a test with a solution that doesn't have a web project in it tonight and post my findings.
Thanks!
However, I tried another solution, one that was never switched to the 2005 client and back, and it branches without a problem.
Continuing to investigate...
-
- Posts: 112
- Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
- Location: Birmingham, AL
-
- Posts: 112
- Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 10:50 pm
- Location: Birmingham, AL
After more fiddling I was able to get the solution to branch and open.
I'm not sure what happened, or if I did something differently, but here's the general timeline:
1) Solution bound with 2003 client
2) Solution unbound with 2003 and re-bound with 2005
3) Installed Fortress 1.1
4) Solution unbound with 2005 client and rebound with 2003
5) Normal use for some time
6) Solution branched
7) Unable to open solution, various errors, see previous posts.
Attempt to open solution on another work station. Work station is set to use the 2003 client but says solution is bound with another provider. At this point I become suspicious of of whether or not Fortress completely removed the 2005 bindings.
9) Returned to original work-station.
10) Un-binded via the 2003 client, rebinded with the 2005 client.
11) Verified that the "Checkin not enabling when a file is automatically checked out when you begin editing" bug was still not fixed.
12) Decided to try unbinding one more time.
13) Unbinded with 2005 client
14) Went to fortress, checked out entire solution, chose to merge the files later <-- This could be the difference
15) Rebound with the 2003 client and selected to prevent unwanted file overwrites
16) Checked in.
At this point I branched the solution again to see if it would work, and it did, but I got several dialog boxes (sorry no screens this time) that I hadn't seen before while Fortress sorted out the source control discrepancies. I still believe that Vault 3.x handled this more elegantly (no dialogs after a merge, just sorted it out on its own without telling me 30 times the same message over and over again).
Hope this helps
I'm not sure what happened, or if I did something differently, but here's the general timeline:
1) Solution bound with 2003 client
2) Solution unbound with 2003 and re-bound with 2005
3) Installed Fortress 1.1
4) Solution unbound with 2005 client and rebound with 2003
5) Normal use for some time
6) Solution branched
7) Unable to open solution, various errors, see previous posts.
Attempt to open solution on another work station. Work station is set to use the 2003 client but says solution is bound with another provider. At this point I become suspicious of of whether or not Fortress completely removed the 2005 bindings.
9) Returned to original work-station.
10) Un-binded via the 2003 client, rebinded with the 2005 client.
11) Verified that the "Checkin not enabling when a file is automatically checked out when you begin editing" bug was still not fixed.
12) Decided to try unbinding one more time.
13) Unbinded with 2005 client
14) Went to fortress, checked out entire solution, chose to merge the files later <-- This could be the difference
15) Rebound with the 2003 client and selected to prevent unwanted file overwrites
16) Checked in.
At this point I branched the solution again to see if it would work, and it did, but I got several dialog boxes (sorry no screens this time) that I hadn't seen before while Fortress sorted out the source control discrepancies. I still believe that Vault 3.x handled this more elegantly (no dialogs after a merge, just sorted it out on its own without telling me 30 times the same message over and over again).
Hope this helps